Out of the Woodwork

So, I’ve been quiet for a while. Some of that is because I didn’t have anything compelling to say, and I feel this weird obligation for each post to be somehow poignant and interesting. I suppose I set the bar too high for myself. I’ll try to lower it for the sake of people knowing I’m still alive.

I’m back in school for the summer semester, and in one of my random meanderings about on the internet, I found something interesting. Eve Ensler, creator of the Vagina Monologues, was speaking at TEDTalks about security. At first, going into it, I thought it would be what you’d expect out of Eve Ensler – vagina power and raging against the status quo.

Oddly, it wasn’t.

I think the most compelling part of this video that affects me is the idea that security is a binding thing that closes our minds. In recent years, I have privately bemoaned the fact that I’m not a very styled person. By that I mean that I see girls who dress like preppies and women who dress like professionals and there are emo kids and goth girls and on and on. I don’t have that kind of identity. I wear just about anything I want. Some days I look like a hippy, other days I look like a degenerate goth. And occasionally I look like a respectable prepster.

After watching that talk, I feel sort of like maybe I’m better off, not deficient in some way. Maybe my lack of permanent style is a mark of my ability to change, and grow.

~ by oniongirl13 on May 28, 2009.

3 Responses to “Out of the Woodwork”

  1. It’s interesting, OnionGirl – we are such kindred spirits in this way – I have often felt the same way as you on this matter. I wear what I like, and fuck style.

  2. Hi,

    I’m so glad to see a new post and to get to read it.

    I think your standards were too high. All your posts are great. Even if you lowered your standards all your posts would still be great.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

  3. Me too, no style – I just wear what I like, and what is cheap!

Leave a Reply

 
