No Hiding Place

As readers of this blog likely know, I’m not Christian. However, I am also not a bitter non-Christian. There are a lot of aspects of Christianity that I embrace, and for a while I attended an Universalist Unitarian church because they valued the same things I did.

During my visits to the south (GA, VA), I became totally entranced by gospel music. It was beautiful. It was joyous. At times it was intensely vengeful or righteous, but it was always all of those things with the same joy and expression.

My last post inspired me to look up the lyrics to a song I heard once in a television show; it turns out the song was based on Revelations 6:15-17.

No Hiding Place

No hiding place, down here
No hiding place
There’s no hiding place
Down here
No hiding place
And they went to the rock to hide their face
But the rock cried out
No hiding place
There’s no hiding place
Down here

And the sinners are gonna be running
At the knowledge of their fate
They’ll run to the rocks and the mountains
But their prayers will be too late
They forgot about Jesus
Not knowing the end was near
At the end they’ll try to find a hiding place
When it comes their time to die

No hiding place in the mountains
No hiding place in the waters
No hiding place
Down here
No hiding place
And they went to the rock to hide their face
But the rock cried out
No hiding place
There’s no hiding place
Down here

Can’t you see old gambler running
Saying ‘Lord, save my soul’
Saying ‘Lord, Lord, have mercy, won’t you save my soul’
Saying ‘Lord, Lord, have mercy, won’t you save my soul’

No hiding place, down here
No hiding place
There’s no hiding place
Down here
Yeah
I went to the rock to hide my face
But the rock cried out
No hiding place
There’s no hiding place
Down here

That’s what we have to do. That’s what we have to say. When these monsters come to our doors and try to hide, when we have the opportunity to turn away and ignore a problem, when we have the ability to let someone get away with that… We must cry out, “No hiding place.”

~ by oniongirl13 on June 24, 2009.

One Response to “No Hiding Place”

  1. Amen, Sister!

Leave a Reply

 
