Product Alert: Aquafresh Iso Active

Often I have read other people’s blogs and shared a particular dislike for the texture of toothpaste. To some of us who have suffered sexual assault involving oral sex, the feel of the toothpaste, watery and gross and slightly granular, is slightly triggering. For me, it has added to my ongoing dental problems because I admit, I’m less likely to brush because of the disturbing feeling.

I ran into this product on accident; one of my roommates had bought it and I was out of toothpaste and needed to borrow some. At first I overlooked it, thinking it was shaving cream. But once I realized what it was, I was pleasantly surprised to find the texture totally different. It becomes sort of a foaming gel that still tastes and acts like toothpaste, but without the liquidy-grainy feeling to it.

Thought I would let you all know. If you’re one of the many like me who avoid tooth brushing more than you should because of the texture, this product might work for you.

~ by oniongirl13 on January 28, 2010.

3 Responses to “Product Alert: Aquafresh Iso Active”

  1. Good suggestion, thanks!
    SDW

  2. Thanks for the suggestion. My son, who is now 15, has not been able to brush his teeth for years. I try to get him to use a toothbrush with water, but maybe this new toothpaste would be a positive alternative.

    I empathize with your situation. People who have not been through it cannot possible fully comprehend the extent of the damage it causes.
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

    • Another thing that has worked for me is a timer brush. There are toothbrushes out there that time how long you’re brushing and beep after 2 minutes, which gives me the freedom to try and let my mind wander and not think about “when can I stop, damnit” because it will tell me.

      The texture on toothpaste is really horrible, and I’m surprised it’s taken this long for a company to try something else. The slimy, grainy feeling of traditional toothpaste is something a lot of people hate even without disability or a history of abuse.

      I’m glad this might be helpful, please stay in touch and let me know what he thinks!

Leave a Reply

 
