Normal sleep.

There seems to be this strange notion, this utterly baffling assumption that there is “normal sleep time” and if you are sleeping outside of that “normal sleep time” you’re fair game for waking up. This particular issue irks the crap out of me when I travel, particularly, because I do social events with sleepovers or convention type things. Now, I don’t have a problem with scheduled events. If the rest of the world wants to start functioning at 9am, that’s fine, and I can choose whether or not to participate. What drives me bonkers is sharing a large room full of beds with “normal” sleepers.

Example. This weekend, there I am, asleep from 5:30am until 10am, at which point one of the room people came in, whined, “It’s 10am! Do we really have to keep the lights off?!” I tried to be considerate and compromise, so I said, “Why don’t you turn on the light over there by your bed and I’ll try to sleep with it on?” Rather than presuming my sleep time was important and accepting my compromise, said whiny pile of cow shit stomped over and proceeded to bicker with her husband at full conversational volume while dropping their bags on the floor, then on the bed, then on the floor again as they sorted through to find a specific object they needed.

How is that okay? How is it okay to walk into a room where someone is sleeping (let’s say, napping, midafternoon) and start arguing with someone ten feet away?

Sadly, there’s no answer to this question that is going to satisfy me. I’m quite positive that the person involved will just whine and be a bitch about it, and it’ll just cause more stress. So I plan instead to just remove myself. Make a foam bed and set it up in the back of our SUV (it’s a 7 seater and they all fold down) and just go park in the shade and sleep as late as I damn well please.

Sometimes people say something incredibly daft about how isolation and withdrawal are terrible and we should all try to be closer. Today, I say well maybe if people were more considerate I’d want to actually be around them.

~ by oniongirl13 on February 27, 2012.

2 Responses to “Normal sleep.”

  1. Hi,

    I wanted to say that I don’t sleep a lot of the time during the acceptable hours either. I have gotten a lot of flack, judgment, and interference by others throughout my life. I am luck right now in that my roommate respects my space and does not judge me and that usually her normal life noise is not a disturbance while I am trying to sleep. I totally don’t get the rudeness by others, but I have gone through it so much. There are three work shifts and I have often been disturbed when working the evening or overnight shifts while trying to sleep in the day and sometimes have been even told that I have no right to complain, even legally over terrible noise disturbances during the day. Well they have my ire, I have no idea how they feel about me or if they understand how badly behaved they are being. I’m sorry that you must be with those who are content to be oblivious about your sleep needs.

    Good and healing thoughts to you.

    Kate

    • One of the things most frustrating to me about this is that if I were your average person *not* sleeping at an odd hour but instead taking a NAP, people would tiptoe around and say shh. But since it’s my actual sleeping time, that makes it okay? Bleh.

Leave a Reply

 
