Tattoos

There’s a line in a song by Pink. 

“I don’t wanna be flawless/When I go, I want the cuts to show.”

 

It resonated so strongly with me that it took days for me to figure out why. In the end, I realized that my tattoos are my socially acceptable way of marking who I am on my body. I suppose I’ve known since I was sixteen or so that suicide was a very possible part of my life and its end. I think that line resonated because on some level it offends me that all my illness and all my trauma are hidden inside, sometimes in a very literal way.

Someday, when I die, if it’s tomorrow or when I’m eighty, I want someone, somewhere, to look over my empty flesh and see that I lived. 

~ by oniongirl13 on November 16, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
